The Secretariat consists of the National Governing Committee (NGC), which draws its members from various government ministries including Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA), Ministry of Devolution and Planning (MoDP) and the National Treasury. The Committee plays an oversight role to the Secretariat. The Chief Executive Officer (CEO) a presidential appointee is responsible for supervising organizational operations in line with the mandate, he reports to the NGC and the African Union (APRM & NEPAD divisions).

Within the Secretariat are 3 key departments:

  • African Peer Review Mechanism (APRM)
  • NEPAD Programmes
  • Human Resource and Administration (HR & Admin)

APRM is tasked with implementing projects on country reviews, county reviews and governance indices. The programmes department on the other hand is responsible for spearheading the implementation of projects within NEPAD Kenya’s 6 thematic areas while the HR & Admin Department tasked with the provision of corporate services.

Other key actors in NEPAD Kenya’s operations include the National Treasury, which provides financial resources to the secretariat and the Ministry of Devolution and Planning under whose auspices the Secretariat sits.